Oktoberfest - ein Fest der Landeshauptstadt München
Photo: Sebastian Lehner

The Oktoberfest Barometer

The best time to visit the Oktoberfest

About 6 million people attend the Wiesn each year. Although for all days everything is very convivial, there are times when it is a bit quieter and cozier at the biggest Volksfest in the world – and days when there’s particularly lots going on. Our Oktoberfest Barometer gives you an overview.

Lunchtime at the Wiesn, “Italian weekend” and family days

The Munich resident who attends Oktoberfest knows his business and knows when one can enjoy a grilled chicken and a fresh beer on site, without a reservation, and take their time over it. For everyone else, we have compiled the empirical data and figures in our Oktoberfest Barometer.

On “Italian weekend” – the weekend in the middle – it is particularly full. If the weather doesn’t cooperate, then it can get pretty busy in the tents. Also on the two Tuesdays – the family days – there’s more people in the afternoon. But that’s less in the tents and more by the stalls and rides for the little ones.

And of course the public holiday, October 3rd, which Wiesn always falls on, attracts lots of visitors, especially when the following day is a Friday.

The Oktoberfest Barometer – how busy it is on each day

When it’s green, it’s relatively relaxed and cozy at the Wiesn. Yellow means a medium number of visitors and the darker the red gets, the busier it is likely to be in the grounds.

10 a.m. to 3 p.m.
3 p.m. to 6 p.m.
from 6 p.m.
Saturday, September 21 2019
busy
busy
very busy
Sunday, September 22 2019
busy
busy
well attended
Monday, September 23 2019
quiet
quiet
well attended
Tuesday, September 24 2019
quiet
well attended
well attended
Wednesday, September 25 2019
quiet
quiet
well attended
Thursday, September 26 2019
quiet
quiet
well attended
Friday, September 27 2019
quiet
well attended
busy
Saturday, September 28 2019
busy
very busy
very busy
Sunday, September 29 2019
busy
busy
well attended
Monday, September 30 2019
quiet
quiet
well attended
Tuesday, October 1 2019
quiet
well attended
well attended
Wednesday, October 2 2019
quiet
well attended
busy
Thursday, October 3 2019
busy
busy
busy
Friday, October 4 2019
well attended
busy
busy
Saturday, October 5 2019
busy
very busy
very busy
Sunday, October 6 2019
busy
busy
well attended

Filling levels in real time: Only in the official Oktoberfest App

In the free Oktoberfest app from muenchen.de you can see even more details: For each of the big tents a color bar in the map shows you how full the tent is. Download the app here:

X
Download app, have a plan!

The official Oktoberfest App with site plan, tent filling levels and lots of news and information about the Wiesn